Skip to main content

Cox Automotive Australia will announce the annual Barbara Cox Award winner on March 14, picked from a nominated shortlist of high-achieving women in the automotive industry.  

The 2024 nominees come from across the Australian automotive sector, with representatives from the dealer, OEM and educational sectors making the shortlist. 

The four finalists are: 

  • Chelsea Bowers – Mechanic at John Edwards Automotive 
  • Shai Copelin – Product Manager of Automotive at TAFE NSW 
  • Blaire Race – National Marketing Manager at IVECO Trucks 
  • Odette Winnington – National Head of People & Culture at Autopact 

This award is named for the late Barbara Cox, the business pioneer who was an owner and board of directors’ member of Cox Enterprises, Cox Automotive’s parent company.  

The award recognises women who demonstrate business leadership and community advocacy, as well as a commitment to advancing our industry. Nominations are open to any woman working within the automotive industry across Australia.  

In addition to gaining recognition, the winner receives $5,000 to spend on her personal development. 

“It’s important to increase the recognition of the contributions of women in the automotive sector, which remains some way off when it comes to equal representation,” said Strategy and Marketing Director Mathew McAuley. 

HR Director Silvia Balovcikova added: “The four shortlisted finalists all amply demonstrate the qualities we were looking for in our candidates; inspiring leadership, a commitment to innovation and contributing to their industry and their communities”.  

The winner of the inaugural 2023 Barbara Cox Award was Eleni Mitakos, Founder of Galmatic, an organisation that runs car maintenance courses for women and teenagers. 

Cox Automotive Australia wishes the four finalists best of luck and will announce the winner on March 14.